The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood review

As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn’t believe in lasting romantic relationships–but her best friend does, and that’s what got her into this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive is dating and well on her way to a happily ever after was always going to take more than hand-wavy Jedi mind tricks: Scientists require proof. So, like any self-respecting biologist, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees.

That man is none other than Adam Carlsen, a young hotshot professor–and well-known ass. Which is why Olive is positively floored when Stanford’s reigning lab tyrant agrees to keep her charade a secret and be her fake boyfriend. But when a big science conference goes haywire, putting Olive’s career on the Bunsen burner, Adam surprises her again with his unyielding support and even more unyielding…six-pack abs.

Suddenly their little experiment feels dangerously close to combustion. And Olive discovers that the only thing more complicated than a hypothesis on love is putting her own heart under the microscope.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I don’t know a single thing about these Trek Wars and the Star Star, but from a purely bookish viewpoint of The Love Hypothesis: this book was pretty good!

The Love Hypothesis got popular a few years ago for being a… Reylo(?) fanfic turned into its own standalone book. I heard people gushing about it practically everywhere on social media, with so many posts that I decided I had to get my own copy to see if I could understand the hype.

And then I let it sit in my kindle for two years.

But I actually really enjoyed my time reading this book once I finally picked it up!

In The Love Hypothesis, we follow Olive, a PhD student who needs to convince her best friend she’s over her ex so her friend can make a move. She ends up kissing a random person in the halls as her best friend passes by, and is surprised to find that its Adam, a grumpy professor who she is sure is not going to take the sudden kissing well.

Except he does. And he comes up with a plan for them to fake date.

The Love Hypothesis was definitely a fun and kind of silly read! There are a couple moments in the story where we get a little more serious and focus on a conflict I wasn’t expecting out of this book, but I know I definitely enjoyed the wacky hijinks of these two fake dating!

Leave a comment