The Bodyguard by Katherine Center review

She’s got his back. He’s got her heart. They’ve got a secret. What could possibly go wrong?

Hannah Brooks looks more like a kindergarten teacher than somebody who could kill you with her bare hands. But the truth is, she’s an elite bodyguard and she’s just been hired to protect a superstar actor from his stalker.

Jack Stapleton’s a Hollywood heartthrob – captured by paparazzi on beaches the world over, rising out of the waves in clingy board shorts and glistening like a Roman deity.

When Jack’s mom gets sick, he comes home to the family’s Texas ranch to help out. Only one catch: He doesn’t want his family to know about his stalker. Or the bodyguard thing. And so Hannah – against her will and her better judgment – finds herself pretending to be Jack’s girlfriend as a cover.

Protecting Jack should be easy. But protecting her own heart? That’s the hardest thing she’s ever done…

Rating: 3 out of 5.

After reading Hello Stranger and having such strange, mixed feelings about it, I wanted to pick up another one of Katherine Center’s books to try out more of this author’s writing style. And with so many people recently reading (and enjoying) The Bodyguard, I thought this book would be the perfect place to start.

Surprisingly, I had a lot of the same problems in The Bodyguard as I did Hello Stranger. According to both of these books, I seem to dislike the way Katherine Center writes the beginnings of books, though the plot will somehow still pull me in and get better the further I get from that rough beginning.

However, much of this book was bland and forgettable. Even though I finished reading this book about a week ago, the only thought that went through my head as I was gathering the words I wanted to say in this review was “I read it.”

The only real comment that stuck with me for this book was my feelings on the ending. The Bodyguard‘s ending is written as though it’s one of those “where are they now?” slideshows some movies have at the end. The book ends with a scene entirely told to readers, rather than placing us in the moment, which only separates us from the characters and events in the book.

Ultimately, I think this book just proved that Katherine Center’s writing is not for me.

Leave a comment