Midnight Magic (Clover Pack #2) by Savannah Lee review

I probably shouldn’t have followed the strange Fae man through the mysterious portal.
Scratch that. I definitely shouldn’t have, but when the choice was to either get my friends killed or jump…
I jumped.
Now I’m stuck in the faerie lands, where enemies lurk around every corner, waiting to strike. The Fae Queen will rest at nothing until she gets her hands on me. I have something she wants, something she needs.
Something I stole from her.
The catch? I can’t remember where I put it. I can’t remember anything from my former life, having erased my memories to hide from my past in the human realm.
Now I’m on a mission to recover what I’ve lost, arm myself with the knowledge of what I’ve hidden, and save my friends – including the hunky panther shifter I can’t seem to get out of my head.
If I don’t die trying first.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I’ve been dying to read Midnight Magic ever since finishing Midnight Mated earlier this year, so you can understand how excited I was to jump into this book as soon as I received a copy!

One thing I was immediately amazed by in this book was the worldbuilding this author introduces. Because of the events at the very end of the first book, it’s obvious to readers that we will enter Midnight Magic with an introduction to the land of the fae, but I was immediately struck by how masterfully this author took this concept and made it their own while also sticking to some of the same elements we’ve come to expect in a book about the fae.

I also really enjoyed the characters in this story and seeing them band together against a common goal. Seeing these characters determined to stay by each others’ sides, even when things get weird, was the perfect continuation of the found family trope I loved to see in the first book!

However, I will say that there were a few aspects of this book I wish had been done better.

For one, the fight scenes were a bit difficult to stay focused in. Because the fight scenes are longer and more important in this book, I felt like I should have been paying more attention to them, but it was hard to keep my focus on what was happening. Perhaps this is more of a personal problem, as I often find my attention straying away from fight scenes in any media, but I wish I could have been able to stay in that moment instead of glossing over the scenes.

I also felt like this book could have been a little longer in order to make space for more emotional significance. In the latter half of the book, readers enter a scene where a side character dies and, due to the rules of this universe, we have to slowly watch their mate die as well. While the characters were upset during this time, it was hard as a reader to also be sad for these deaths, as we were introduced to these characters within this very scene.

Still, I absolutely adored Midnight Magic and this entire series so far! Seeing Midnight Magic end just like I was hoping it would was an amazing experience, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the third book in this series to read more about these characters and their world!


Want to see more of my thoughts on this book? I recorded a reading vlog for both Midnight Mated and Midnight Magic that you can watch now!

Leave a comment