Kingdom of the Cursed (Kingdom of the Wicked #2) by Kerri Maniscalco | A Review

After selling her soul to become Queen of the Wicked, Emilia travels to the Seven Circles with the enigmatic Prince of Wrath, where she’s introduced to a seductive world of vice.
She vows to do whatever it takes to avenge her beloved sister, Vittoria… even if that means accepting the hand of the Prince of Pride, the king of demons.
The first rule in the court of the Wicked? Trust no one. With back-stabbing princes, luxurious palaces, mysterious party invitations, and conflicting clues about who really killed her twin, Emilia finds herself more alone than ever before. Can she even trust Wrath, her one-time ally in the mortal world… or is he keeping dangerous secrets about his true nature?
Emilia will be tested in every way as she seeks a series of magical objects that will unlock the clues of her past and the answers she craves…
One sister.
Two sinful princes.
Infinite deception with a side of revenge… Welcome to Hell.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This book could be summed up by the 👀 emoji.

I mean, first of all, I don’t understand the main character, Emilia, in the beginning. Even reading this immediately after the first book in the series, I was looking at her questionable choices like… well… 👀

The beginning of this book is a bit rough as the characters journey between Emilia’s world and the Seven Circles. It felt to me, near the beginning of my own reading journey, as though the section didn’t really matter. Looking back on it now, I can see the slight meaning in this beginning journey, but it made for a rough reading experience on my first passthrough.

And then my notes have eleven 😍 emojis. Four for one note, seven for the next. I won’t spoil why, but I was certainly loving it.

This book is definitely a lot more character-focused than the first book. As someone who struggled a bit with the first book for being too plot-heavy, this definitely made this book much easier to read and enjoy. Our plot instead focuses on the main character transitioning into living in the new environment around her and learning not only its secrets, but her involvement in them.

But I was still left with so many questions upon the ending of this book. I’m eagerly awaiting the third book so I can understand this series a little better. And then maybe I’ll do a reread…

Leave a comment