Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco | A Review

Two sisters.
One brutal murder.
A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself…
And an intoxicating romance.

Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved twin…desecrated beyond belief. Devastated, Emilia sets out to find her sister’s killer and to seek vengeance at any cost—even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden.
Then Emilia meets Wrath, one of the Wicked—princes of Hell she has been warned against in tales since she was a child. Wrath claims to be on Emilia’s side, tasked by his master with solving the series of women’s murders on the island. But when it comes to the Wicked, nothing is as it seems…

Rating: 3 out of 5.

The plot to this book is definitely intriguing.

Most of my notes on this book are based on plot related things. Me screaming in my phone’s notes app over things happening that I didn’t expect. On the wild ride this book took me through.

But it’s all factual. Nothing emotional.

I think that’s the main point I want to convey in this review: while the book itself was an interesting story that made me want to immediately jump into the sequel, there wasn’t anything emotionally binding me to this. I just found it… okay.

We focus on our main character, Emilia, who finds her sister’s dead body in the basement of a church. Even worse, she finds a man leaning over her dead sister’s body, licking her blood off of his fingers.

Yet this man isn’t her sister’s killer. Instead, the two work together to figure out who has been murdering young, female witches in the community. It takes her through many different secret aspects of not only her own witchy heritage, but the Wicked themselves.

The only bits of my notes that may be even slightly emotional are more closer to the end, near the setup for the next book. Having read the sequel before writing this review, I definitely am more invested in the sequel than I am this first book. But as a foundation for this world and the two sisters’ stories, this book felt just… okay.

Leave a comment