A Past of Love and Loss (The Hunter Series #2) by Alexander Lound | An ARC Review

Still marred by questions of what they saw in the mountains of Maagsgard, Eric and Alice must continue their journey to Xanvir.
However, after mooring in an inconspicuous fishing village in Fromark, they never expect to encounter somebody from Eric’s past – a past he has been trying to bury.
Worse still, Eric soon learns that the people of his hometown, Dawn, are in danger. And he is the only one who can save them.
Eric has no choice but to undertake the mission. Even if it means digging up old memories.
Even if it means facing old friends.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A Past of Love and Loss gets published December 17th, 2021.

I feel like I never quite know what to expect from this series.

After the tumultuous ending of the first book, I knew I had to get my hands on the second book. I expected to pick up right where the first left off to find out more of our “villain” of the first book, but this book instead focuses on a priestess mind controlling the men of Eric’s hometown.

I do actually like that this series seems to be episodic (I mean… it’s right there on the cover of the book!) and will focus on a different mini plot for each entry. Now that we know a little bit more about the world and the monsters running amok, having these small instances focusing on how the monsters are affecting the everyday people of this world is definitely interesting to see and really helps the worldbuilding.

In my original review for this book, I mentioned how I didn’t understand the villain’s motives and reasoning behind their actions. However, I have since worked with the author to develop this villain a bit more and make them someone readers can understand better. I feel like a good villain is someone with a story that helps show why they do the things they do, and this villain definitely has a story readers can feel!

I’m also very excited to get to the third book in this series! I definitely want to know more about this plot unraveling throughout each book and I love the character development I’ve seen so far, but I think I’m most excited to see more of a new character that gets introduced in this book and what they are going to bring to future installments.

Leave a comment