The Prince and The Dressmaker by Jen Wang | A Review

Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:
Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride―or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia―the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion!
Sebastian’s secret weapon (and best friend) is the brilliant dressmaker Frances―one of only two people who know the truth: sometimes this boy wears dresses. But Frances dreams of greatness, and being someone’s secret weapon means being a secret. Forever. How long can Frances defer her dreams to protect a friend?

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I have a friend who read this book a few years ago and recommended it to me. Since we’ve been friends for over 10 years, I didn’t question why exactly she recommended it and just put it on my list of things to read.

50 pages into this comic, I knew exactly why she recommended it to me.

In case we’ve never met: Hi! I’m Kit. I’m nonbinary.

The prince in this book, from what I have seen in his speech, seems to be genderfluid.

He never actually uses this term himself. But from the things he says, the label seems to be the best way to describe how he sometimes feels completely comfortable in his role as a prince, but sometimes wishes he was a princess instead.

I really loved this comic. It was very wholesome and accepting. At no point does Frances question Sebastian’s feelings, and while there is a bit of a struggle with his parents, it does have a happy ending.

I generally tend to have a problem with pacing in comics, so I also feel the need to point out that I didn’t have a problem with this comic. Everything felt well spaced out, and the comic had the time to tell its story in the amount of pages it contained.

I had to take a second to lay down and stare at the ceiling for a bit after finishing this comic, and I know it’s going to be a favorite for years to come.

Leave a comment